White Lies – in Friendship

Would you lie to your friends in order to make them feel good? We want to protect our friends and make them feel good, but if we lie are we being helpful? Obviously, we don’t want to cause any hurt and I certainly don’t want my friend to feel bad because I was insensitive. I think if we lie to make him feel good, things may get worse or he won’t know the truth or he may make bad choices.

Some while ago, my friend made cookies to sell and asked us to taste to give a feedback. Friends and family are the first line of testers. Some of us want to support her and just want to see her happy. The problem is the cookie were not amazing and tasteless. I think to get objective feedback she should use well know brand and empty out the packaging then substitutes her cookies in the packaging. Feed it to friends and family to get real feedback.

If your good friend wearing recycling low grade clothes for the high social party. He asked “Do I look great?” What is your answer?

Friendship is the unconditional acceptance of another. Some say that to be a good friend we should be completely honest. Honesty requires courage because it makes us vulnerable. Do comment below. Do you lie to your friend to make them feel good? 🙂

 

© 2016 Sai Bryan

Disclaimer: This is a work of fiction. Characters, businesses, events and incidents are the products of the author’s imagination. Any resemblance to actual persons and actual events is purely coincidental.

 

https://www.flickr.com/photos/kalired/5540801859

https://www.flickr.com/photos/stuseeger/226628124

2 thoughts on “White Lies – in Friendship

  1. I did! Often!
    When i have a meeting with friends
    They always ask me “Where are you now? It’s time”
    I was in office but i was afraid they will worried about me i might be lost so i said ” Dont be worry, im in the subway already, not over 10 mins i’ll be there”
    5555555555555

    By the way, anything to make your friends improve, you must not lie to them. The lie can use only make your friends feel better and that feeling not relate with anything else 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, “The most handsome guy I ever met”. Cool name. haha 😀

      Thanks for stopping by. I think there are both pro and con about white lies.

      Example; if your friend has just had a new hair cut. He seems so happy about it. How can you get yourself to say it awful with that haircut? Maybe he know it ugly, but he needs to hear the truth even if it hurt. If you tell the truth, he’ll feel better. This is what most of my childhood friends seek in a friend. Not 100% people like the truth about bad things. LOL . . . . 😀

      Like

Leave a comment